IRI THESys

Profilbild Kümmerle
Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
Department of Geography

Biogeography

Share Profile Link
Profile link copied.
Profil Link teilen
Profil Link wurde kopiert.
Expertise

Prof. Kuemmerle’s team strives to better understand how land use change affects the environment and society. This includes assessments of spatial patterns and the underlying drivers of, for example, tropical deforestation, agricultural abandonment, or intensification of farming. Furthermore, the team studies how changes in land use affect the ecosystem services (e.g. food production or carbon storage) and biodiversity. As one focus the work group analyses trade-offs between use of resources and nature conservation, as well as how such trade-offs could be mitigated. The group also seeks to generate insights and records of high practical value for land use and nature conservation planning, and to assess the effectiveness of nature conservation measures. Prof. Kuemmerle’s regional focus is on Europe, the former Soviet Union and Latin America.

Scientific Services
  • the working group offers quantitative, spatially-explicit methods drawing from spatial ecology, geoinformatics, remote sensing, spatial statistics, econometrics, conservation planning, and wildlife biology
  • equipment to carry out broad-scale surveys to gather primary data
  • server and data storage infrastructure that allows for computationally demanding and/or big data projects
Testimonials
  • different projects with environmental organisations
MEHR ANZEIGEN
Profilbild Patrick Hostert
Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
Department of Geography

Geomatics

Share Profile Link
Profile link copied.
Profil Link teilen
Profil Link wurde kopiert.
Expertise

Prof. Hostert’s explores cutting-edge satellite data analysis. His main focus lies on questions regarding the global change, particularly large-scale mapping in agrarian- and forestry systems and near-nature ecological systems worldwide. He analyses the change of the earth’s surface through different methods, for example with machine learning, big data, time series analyses, hyperspectral and multisensor approaches, as well as multiscale analyses. Regional expertise of the team covers Germany, the mediterranean areas and South America, as well as Central Asia.

Scientific Services
  • satellite data analysis
  • AI in remote sensing
Testimonials
  • large-scale remote sensing analysis with big data approaches (particularly Sentinel-2, Landsat), funded through projects of the BMWi, BMBF, BMEL, as well as the EU
  • scientific monitoring of satellite missions (Landsat Science Team, EnMAP ScientificAdvisory Group)
  • satellite based mapping and land use analysis for NGOs, authorities and global tech- and logistics companies
MEHR ANZEIGEN
Profilbild Schneider
© Falk Weiß
Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences
Department of Geography

Climatology

Share Profile Link
Profile link copied.
Profil Link teilen
Profil Link wurde kopiert.
Expertise

The team of Christoph Schneider works on the impacts of climate and climate change in the field of urban climates and in the field of cryospheric sciences (anything related to snow and ice). His expertise comprises the downscaling of meteorological respectively climatological data for applications in high spatial resolution, for example for urban planning and construction schemes and also for the analysis of potential impacts of climate change on the level of city quarters and cities. Furthermore, such numerical and empirical-statistical procedures are applied to the projection of future water resources in glaciated catchments in high alpine environments worldwide. This also leads to applications regarding the future state of snow covers in mountain ranges which is especially important for questions of future prospects of snow sport tourism. In both fields of applications, the urban climatology and the cryospheric research, measurement strategies and data acquisition of relevant atmospheric variables for the projects are used besides theoretical modelling approaches and downscaling as outlined above.

Scientific Services
  • automatic weather stations
  • turbulence stations
  • devices for particulate matter and ultrafine particles
  • mobile sensoring techniques for meteorological parameters
  • measurement van as platform of mentioned instrumentation
Testimonials
  • Study of the potential and feasibility for large solar power plants on the Iberian Peninsula and in Northern Africa for a large German solar power panel  manufacturer (2005)
  • Study of the projections of impacts of climate change on snow sport in German low moutain ranges for the German Association of Skiing Clubs and the German Federal Secretary of Research and Education (2008)
  • Urban climate analysis for construction schemes for the City of Aachen (2006-2012)
  • Climate change adaptation plans for cities in North Rhine-Westphalia (2014, 2015)
MEHR ANZEIGEN

IRI THESys

Profilbild Kümmerle
Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät
Geographisches Institut

Biogeographie

Share Profile Link
Profile link copied.
Profil Link teilen
Profil Link wurde kopiert.
Expertise

Prof. Kümmerles Arbeitsgruppe untersucht, wie sich Landnutzungsänderungen auf Umwelt und Gesellschaften auswirken, z.B. durch tropische Entwaldung, die Aufgabe von Agrarland oder durch die Intensivierung der Landwirtschaft. Dies beinhaltet die Erforschung der Raummuster und Triebkräfte von Änderungen in der Landnutzung sowie deren Konsequenzen auf Ökosystemleistungen (z.B. Kohlenstoffspeicherung oder Nahrungsproduktion) und auf die Artenvielfalt. Dabei stehen die Erforschung und die Lösung von Zielkonflikten zwischen Ressourcennutzung und Naturschutz im Mittelpunkt von Prof. Kümmerles Arbeit. Seine Forschung soll Wissen und Datensätze von hohem praktischem Wert für die Landschafts- und Naturschutzplanung generieren. Regionale Schwerpunkte der Arbeit von Prof. Kümmerle liegen in Europa, der ehemaligen Sowjetunion sowie in Lateinamerika.

Wissenschaftliche Dienstleistungen
  • Eingesetzt werden aktuelle Methoden zur Analyse und Modellierung von Umweltdaten: räumliche Ökologie, Geoinformationsverarbeitung, Umweltfernerkundung, Naturschutzplanung, Wildbiologie, Ökonometrie, Geostatistik
  • Ausstattung zur Erhebung von Primardaten für große Arbeitsgebiete
  • Server-und Dateninfrastruktur zur Durchführung von rechenaufwändigen Projekten mit sehr großen Datensätzen
Referenzen
  • Verschiedene Projekte mit Umweltschutzorganisationen
MEHR ANZEIGEN
Profilbild Patrick Hostert
Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät
Geographisches Institut

Geomatik

Share Profile Link
Profile link copied.
Profil Link teilen
Profil Link wurde kopiert.
Expertise

Prof. Hostert forscht an modernen Verfahren der digitalen Satellitenbildauswertung. Im Fokus stehen dabei Fragen des globalen Wandels, insbesondere der großräumigen Kartierung in Agrar- und Forstsystemen, sowie naturnahen Ökosystemen weltweit. Um Veränderungen auf der Erdoberfläche zu analysieren, bedient er sich der Methoden des maschinellen Lernens, Big Data, hyperspektralen und multisensorischen Konzepten und insbesondere auch Zeitreihenanalysen. Regionale Fokusregionen sind Deutschland, der mediterrane Raum und Südamerika, vermehrt auch Subsahelafrika und Zentralasien.

Wissenschaftliche Dienstleistungen
  • Satellitendatenanalysen
  • AI in der Geofernerkundung
Referenzen
  • großräumige fernerkundliche Analysen mit Big Data Ansätzen (insbesondere Sentinel-2, Landsat) gefördert durch Projekte des BMWi, BMBF und BMEL, sowie der EU
  • wissenschaftliche Begleitung von Satellitenmissionen (Landsat Science Team, EnMAP Scientific Advisory Group)
  • satellitenbasierte Kartierungen und Landnutzungsanalysen für NGOs, Behörden und globale Tech- und Logistikunternehmen
MEHR ANZEIGEN
Profilbild Schneider
© Falk Weiß
Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät
Geographisches Institut

Klimageographie

Share Profile Link
Profile link copied.
Profil Link teilen
Profil Link wurde kopiert.
Expertise

Das Team von Christoph Schneider beschäftigt sich mit den Auswirkungen von Klima und Klimawandel im Bereich der Stadtklimatologie und im Bereich der Kryosphäre (alles was mit Schnee und Eis verbunden ist). Seine Expertise umfasst das Downscaling von meteorologischen bzw. klimatischen Daten für Anwendungen in hoher räumlicher Auflösung, z.B. in der Stadt- und Bauplanung, und auch für die Analyse potentieller Auswirkungen von Klimawandel auf der Ebene von Stadtteilen oder Städten. Ebenso finden solche numerischen und empirisch-statistischen Verfahren Anwendung in der Projektion zukünftiger Wasserressourcen in vergletscherten Wassereinzugsgebieten in Hochgebirgen weltweit. Daraus ergeben sich auch Anwendungen bezüglich der zukünftigen Ausprägung der Schneeverhältnisse in Gebirgen, was besonders für Fragestellungen zu den Aussichten für den Wintersporttourismus von Bedeutung ist. In beiden Arbeitsfeldern, der Stadtklimatologie und der Kryosphärenforschung, werden neben theoretischen Ansätzen der Modellierung und des Downscalings, so wie oben ausgeführt, auch Messverfahren und Datenerfassung für relevante atmosphärische Größen für die Erarbeitung von Expertisen durchgeführt.

Wissenschaftliche Dienstleistungen
  • Automatische Wetterstationen
  • Turbulenzmessstationen
  • Erfassung von Feinstaub und Ultrafeinstaub
  • mobile Sensortechnik für meteorologische Parameter
Referenzen
  • Potential- und Machbarkeitsstudie für großskalige Solarenergieerzeugung im Auftrag einer großen deutschen Solarfirma für die Iberische Halbinsel und Nordafrika
  • Studie zur Projektion der Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf den Wintersport in deutschen Mittelgebirgen als Studie für den Deutschen Skiverband und als BMBF-Projekt
  • Stadtklimaanalysen für Bauvorhaben im Auftrag der Stadt Aachen
  • Klimawandelanpassungkonzepte für Städte in Nordrheinwestfalen
  • Kommunikationskonzept für das Umweltbundesamt (UBA) „Messung von Luftschadstoffen mit einfachen Sensoren: Bestimmung und Kommunikation von Möglichkeiten und Grenzen“
MEHR ANZEIGEN